Logo for the Amazon First Novel Award 2024

The submission period for the Adult First Novel and Youth Short Story categories is now closed.
Thank you to everyone who submitted.

The shortlists will be announced in early May and the winners on Thursday, June 6, 2024.

Established in 1976, the First Novel Award program has launched the careers of some of Canada’s most beloved novelists. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje, Joan Barfoot, Joy Kogawa, W. P. Kinsella, Nino Ricci, Rohinton Mistry, Michael Redhill, Mona Awad, Katherena Vermette, Casey Plett, Michelle Good, Pik-Shuen Fung, and last year’s winner, Jasmine Sealy.

The winner of the Adult Novel Category will receive $60,000, and the five finalists will each receive $6,000 in prize money. The Youth Short Story Category invites authors between the ages of thirteen and seventeen to submit a short story under 3,000 words. The winner in this category will receive $5,000 and the five finalists will each receive $500.

2024 Youth Author Special Guest Speaker

David A. Robertson is the author of numerous books for young readers, including the two Governor General’s Literary Award–winning picture books On the Trapline and When We Were Alone, both illustrated by Julie Flett. The first two books in Robertson’s bestselling middle-grade fantasy series, The Misewa Saga, have received great acclaim and award attention. A sought-after speaker and educator, Robertson is a member of the Norway House Cree Nation and lives in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

2024 Judging Panel

Billy-Ray Belcourt

Billy-Ray Belcourt

francesca ekwuyasi

francesca ekwuyasi

Kaie Kellough

Kaie Kellough

Souvankham Thammavongsa

Souvankham Thammavongsa

Past Shortlists and Winners









Get in Touch

For more information please contact us at amazoncanadafirstnovelaward@thewalrus.ca.

Contact us