Be bold.
Be hopeful.
Be outrageously optimistic.

Wednesday, January 20, 2021

5 p.m. PT | 6 p.m. MT | 8 p.m. ET | 9 p.m. AT

75 minutes


Get behind independent, fact-checked journalism and join us at the 2021 virtual edition of The Walrus Gala! On January 20, 2021, audiences from coast to coast to coast will enjoy an evening hosted by artists and storytellers who will inspire optimism for our collective future.

Trust, facts, and optimism are essential in a time of crisis. Supporting The Walrus Gala will help sustain our ability to continue to provide researched, reliable, and inspiring journalism that helps Canadians find answers to critical questions and shapes a better Canada.

Join us in outrageous optimism.


Announcing the Lineup!


In Conversation with Margaret Atwood

Bio | Website | Twitter


Performance by iskwē

Bio | Website | Twitter


Comedy with Ali Hassan

Bio | Website | Twitter


Outrageous Optimism with Bif Naked

Bio | Website | Twitter


In Conversation with Shad

Bio | Website | Twitter


In Conversation with David Frum

Bio | Website | Twitter



Tickets and Sponsorship Opportunities

You will receive a link to join the virtual event upon registration.

Individual and Corporate Sponsorships
$1,000 – $50,000

Sponsors and ticket buyers at the $1,000 level and up will receive a Guest Experience Package complete with a snack box as part of their own private cocktail reception. Catered by Daniel et Daniel, this snack box includes a cheese board, specialty cookies and chocolates, a Juice Concepts Beverage Trio for the cocktail or mocktail of your choice, and a special gift. A virtual networking party will be held for sponsors prior to kick-off!

Outrageous Optimists
$250

Outrageous Optimists will receive access to the event, their name listed on a dedicated web page, and a free subscription to The Walrus.

or contact Necole at gala@thewalrus.ca

 


Sponsors

Live Arts Sponsor


Inspirational Sponsors

Ira Gluskin and Maxine Granovsky Gluskin

Legendary Sponsors

Janelle and Pierre Lassonde | Gillian and Paul Smith

Generously Supported By


Shelley Ambrose | Shari Austin | Jennifer Hollett | Shane Hollett | Alyssa Hussein | Donald K Johnson | Mark Polley | Irfhan Rawji | Tanya Sinha


The Walrus Gala Committee 2021

Chaired by Gillian and Paul Smith

Stephen Atkinson
Shari Austin
Gopal Bansal
Kim Berjian
Helen Burstyn
Jodi Butts
John Delacourt

Lauren Dobell
Alyssa Hussein
Julia Johnston
Chethan Lakshman
Joe Lougheed and Vivian Kolias
Roxanne McCaig
Lisa Pearson
Randi Rahamim
David Simmonds
Tanya Sinha
Jane Taber
Kim West

Get in Touch with Our Team

Laura Lavie
Development Director

Laura Lavie

laura@thewalrus.ca
Necole James
Development Officer

Necole James

necole@thewalrus.ca
Bryn Turner
Sponsor and Donor Relations

Bryn Turner

bryn@thewalrus.ca