2019 Allan Slaight Prize Shortlist

Congratulations to our shortlisted authors

The Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism celebrates journalistic achievements by contributors to The Walrus. Launched in 2017 by The Slaight Family Foundation, the $10,000 prize is awarded to an independent journalist for their work researching, analyzing, and writing about some of the most important topics of our time. A jury of industry specialists reviews more than fifty long-form articles published by The Walrus each year and selects a longlist of ten stories, a shortlist of three finalists, and the recipient of the prize.

2019 Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism Shortlist

breast implant

Are Breast Implants Making Women Sick?


New evidence suggests that doctors were wrong about one of the most popular cosmetic surgeries in the world

The History of Food in Canada Is the History of Colonialism


This country has spent centuries destroying Indigenous food systems. What would it take to restore them?

How to Plan Your Death With the Love of Your Life


Many elderly couples across Canada can now fulfill one of their deepest wishes—to die together

The Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism will be awarded at The Walrus Gala on January 22, 2020.

About our Jury

About Allan Slaight and The Slaight Family Foundation

2017 Longlist

The Walrus Staff