The Walrus Donors

The Walrus salutes community leaders who have made substantial multiyear commitments. We acknowledge with gratitude the following donors, who share our belief in provocative long-form journalism, innovative ideas, and continuing the Canadian conversation.

The Walrus Trust


Diane Blake and Stephen Smith
Ira Gluskin and Maxine ­Granovsky Gluskin
The Honourable Margaret McCain
Rosemary Phelan
Kim Samuel

Optimistic Canadians

Visionary donors

Barry and Laurie Green Family Charitable Foundation
Gretchen and Donald Ross
Donald K. Johnson

Champion Donors

Lakshman Family
Pierre Lassonde Family Foundation
Louise MacCallum and Michael Barnstijn
Rosamond Ivey
Mike and Martha Pedersen
Michael Young Family Foundation

Ambassador Donors

Helen Burstyn
Michael Decter
David and Yvonne Fleck
Kevin and Roger Garland
William C. Graham
Richard and Lois Haskayne
Dr. Eric Jackman
Nadir and Shabin Mohamed
Karen Prentice
Andrew and Valerie Pringle

We also thank The Walrus community of 2,000 donors who helped fund independent, fact-based journalism this year. 2018 Donor Listing and 2018 Year in Review.

Contact Us

Please contact us to discuss making a philanthropic gift to The Walrus.

Aimee Ippersiel
Aimée Ippersiel
Director of Strategy & Communication
(416) 971-5004, ext. 237

The Walrus gratefully acknowledges the support of The Canada Council for the Arts and The Ontario Arts Council.