Board of Directors

Helen Burstyn

Bruce Bennett, Gretchen Ross

Honorary Legal Council
David Stevens

Shari Austin, Diane Blake, Jodi Butts, Cameron Charlebois, Ira Gluskin, Elizabeth Gomery, Lucille Joseph, Chethan Lakshman, Janelle Lassonde, Robin McLay, Chima Nkemdirim, Richard O’Hagan, Anna Porter, Justin Poy, Karen Prentice, Alyssa Hussein

Educational Review Committee

Karen Prentice

Mark Migotti

Benjamin Berger (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University), Lea Caragata (Wilfrid Laurier University), Barb Hunt (Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, Memorial University), Stephen Kimber (University of King’s College), Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair (University of Manitoba), Lee Smolin (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics), Mira Sucharov (Carleton University)

National Advisory Council

Ian Alexander, Charlie Angelakos, Paul Cohen, Heather Conway, Jean Cumming, Michael Decter, Rupert Duchesne, Martha Durdin, William Fox, Roger Garland, Emmanuelle Gattuso, John Geiger, Marina Glogovac, Blake Goldring, Francesca Grosso, David Harrison, Dr. Eric Jackman, Tom Jackson, Roberta Jamieson, Donald K. Johnson, Mark Kingwell, Gerald Lazare, D’Arcy Levesque, James Little, Louise MacCallum, Hugh MacKinnon, Laura Michalchyshyn, Scott Mullin, Seamus O’Regan, Terry O’Reilly, Julian Porter, Pierre Santoni, Bernard Schiff, Helga Stephenson, Vince Timpano, Aritha van Herk

The Order of the Walrus

This designation recognizes outstanding one-time transformative gifts to The Walrus that help accomplish major editorial projects that would not otherwise be possible. This special two-year capacity-building campaign, launched in Canada’s sesquicentennial year celebrates a commitment from donors to The Walrus idea of a better Canada.

Companions of the Order of the Walrus
Gretchen and Donald Ross
Ira Gluskin and Maxine Granovsky Gluskin

Officers of the Order of the Walrus
Lassonde Family Foundation
The Honourable Margaret McCain

Members of the Order of the Walrus
Donald K. Johnson

Optimistic Canadians

The Walrus Foundation salutes these community leaders who have made substantial multi-year commitments to the Walrus Foundation. Their commitments allow us to plan on a longer horizon and execute projects in an environment designed for success rather than survival.

Lead Visionary donor
RBC Foundation

Visionary donors
Diane Blake and Stephen Smith
Chisholm/Thomson Family Fund
La Fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso
John Macfarlane and Rosamond Ivey
Rosemary Phelan
Andrew and Valerie Pringle
Gretchen and Donald Ross

Champion Donors
Lucille Joseph and Urban Joseph, OC
Lakshman Family
Lassonde Family Foundation
Louise MacCallum and Michael Barnstijn
Michael Young Family Foundation

Ambassador Donors
Helen Burstyn
Michael Decter
David and Yvonne Fleck
Kevin and Roger Garland
William C. Graham
Richard and Lois Haskayne
Dr. Eric Jackman
Donald K. Johnson
Erica and Jeff Lebbert
The Honourable Margaret McCain
Nadir and Shabin Mohamed
Karen Prentice

Please contact Aimée Ippersiel, director of development and strategic communications to discuss making a philanthropic gift to The Walrus.
416971-5004 x237