Meet The Walrus

The Walrus and are projects of the charitable, non-profit Walrus Foundation.


Shelley Ambrose


Jonathan Kay

Deputy Editor

Carmine Starnino

Managing Editor

Samia Madwar

Senior Editors

Jessica Johnson
Katherine Laidlaw

Associate Editor

Harley Rustad

Assistant Editor

Alex Tesar

Copy Editor

Sarah Sweet

Art Director

Brian Morgan

Deputy Art Director

Paul Kim


Meredith Holigroski

Poetry Editor

Damian Rogers

Chawkers fellow

Viviane Fairbank

Joseph Fellow

Fatima Syed

Pitblado Fellow

Nicole Schmidt

Editor Emeritus

John Macfarlane

Founding Editor

David Berlin

The Walrus Foundation
Executive Director

Shelley Ambrose

Director of Development and Strategic Communications

Aimee Ippersiel

Philanthropy Coordinator

Agata Witkiewicz

Events Director

David Leonard

Deputy Events Director

Leanne Stepnow

Events and Media Coordinators

Blair Elliott
Cailin Cooper

Partnerships and Marketing Manager

Amirah El-Safty

Foundation Copy Editor

Simon Lewsen

Operations Director

Renée Montpellier


Forbes Andersen LLP

Board of Directors

Helen Burstyn


Bruce Bennett
Francesca Grosso
Gretchen Ross

Honorary Legal Council

David Stevens

Shari Austin

Diane Blake

Jodi Butts

Cameron Charlebois

Elizabeth Gomery

Lucille Joseph

Chethan Lakshman

Janelle Lassonde

Robin McLay

Chima Nkemdirim

Richard O’Hagan

Anna Porter

Justin Poy

Karen Prentice

Andrew Pringle

Educational Review Committee

Karen Prentice


Mark Migotti

Benjamin Berger

Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

Marta Braun

Ryerson University

Lea Caragata

Wilfrid Laurier University

Barb Hunt

Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, Memorial University

Robert Nichols

University of Alberta

Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair

University of Manitoba

Lee Smolin

Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

Mira Sucharov

Carleton University

Darren Wershler

Concordia University

National Advisory Council

Charlie Angelakos

Earl Berger

Paul Cohen

Heather Conway

Jean Cumming

Michael Decter

Rupert Duchesne

Martha Durdin

William Fox

Roger Garland

Emmanuelle Gattuso

John Geiger

Marina Glogovac

Blake Goldring

Patrick Gossage

Allan Gregg

David Harrison

Sandy Houston

Tom Jackson

Roberta Jamieson

Donald K. Johnson

Mark Kingwell

Gerald Lazare

D’Arcy Levesque

James Little

Louise MacCallum

Hugh MacKinnon

Scott McIntyre

Laura Michalchyshyn

Seamus O’Regan

Terry O’Reilly

Julian Porter

Jeff Rayman

Perry Rosemond

Bernard Schiff

Jack Shapiro

Helga Stephenson

Vince Timpano

Daren Trousdell

Aritha van Herk

Bisi Williams

The Walrus Foundation salutes community leaders who have made substantial multi-year commitments to the Walrus Campaign for Optimistic Canadians. We acknowledge with gratitude the following donors, who share our belief in provocative long-form journalism, in innovative ideas, and in continuing the Canadian conversation.

Lead Visionary donor

RBC Foundation

Visionary donors

Diane Blake and Stephen Smith

Chisholm/Thomson Family Fund

La Fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso

John Macfarlane and Rosamond Ivey

Andrew and Valerie Pringle

Gretchen and Donald Ross

Champion Donors

Lakshman Family

Lassonde Family Foundation

Louise MacCallum and Michael Barnstijn

Michael Young Family Foundation

Lois and Doug Mitchell

Rosemary Phelan

Ambassador Donors

Michael Decter

David and Yvonne Fleck

Kevin and Roger Garland

William C. Graham

Donald K. Johnson

Lucille Joseph and Urban Joseph, OC

Erica and Jeff Lebbert

The Honourable Margaret McCain

The Walrus Foundation is a registered charitable non-profit (No. 861851624-RR0001) with an educational mandate to create forums for matters vital to Canadians. The foundation is dedicated to supporting writers, artists, ideas, and thought-provoking conversation. We achieve these goals across multiple platforms, publishing The Walrus magazine—which focuses on Canada and its place in the world—ten times a year in print, tablet, and mobile editions; curating and producing the national series of public Walrus Talks; convening annual sector-based leadership dinners; posting original, high-quality content daily at; and designing such digital projects as Walrus Ebooks and Walrus TV. The foundation also trains young professionals in media, publishing, and non-profit development.